Thursday AM Thoughts……

What would you do if you caught your child participating in a riot?  Now isn’t that the question of the day?  Soooo glad I live in SD.  First off- if there was a riot, I would not be near it unless it was on the street in front of our house….and even then- is property more important than my life? No… So chances are I would never “catch” my child doing this- because I would be no where near it in order to “catch” them.

Instead of rioting, picketing, looting, why don’t they exude peace and helpfulness to others instead of being self rightous idiots?  No, it is pack mentality and worrying whether you are cool or not…after all…nothing says cool like burning buildings.

Wouldn’t they have a stroke if busloads of born and raised midwestern people showed up in Baltimore?  Streets would be swept, window’s washed, meals served….and we know someone would always be riding “shotgun” to keep the peace and explain why laws are in place.  When laws are broke, they are broke.  In today’s society, a law is only broke if you get caught.  Scary….

Then you think of Nepal….thousands of people on the streets there as well, but they are working so hard to find and save people in the rubble…………..amazing what a few thousand miles difference makes….I think I need to quit watching the news until they come up with a “all good news” channel 😉  Show me happy nice people with a good story.

I was in the Sanford waiting room one day and there was a very tall gentleman there for radiation.  There was a nosy person there as well.  I quietly did my word puzzle and eavesdropped.  The nosy lady asked him where he was from- he replied Florida.  He got a scholarship for basketball in 1975 and after he graduated he stayed.  Her response was “why would you stay in South Dakota?” she was in disbelief.  Turns out that SHE has been a lifelong resident of SD and should very well know why we stay in SD.  But in any case, she didn’t give up, the guy was slightly annoyed…..

The midwest, with it’s small communities is a great place to live.  We get the change of seasons, winter always give us hope and daydreams of spring…summer is as hot and humid as Florida and makes us sigh for those cool days of fall with its brilliant colors and geese flying south.  Winter comes and covers up the ugly brown with a fresh white blanket of snow….and the people..sometimes you love them, sometimes you are like hmffffff, but no matter what, when the chips are down, they have your back.   So Yes, I am from SD and Yes I do not want to move….however a January break to a warm climate isn’t out of the question 🙂

Well, enough random thoughts for the day.  Time to get back into my world and hope that the day brings tolerable news.  I always have hope, but have learned to set my bar low during this journey.  That way good news is a like a breath of fresh air and bad news doesn’t crash you mentally.  So I will keep doing the “hope for the best, but plan for the worst” mantra…Today I will only look at one hour at a time and be the best I can be.   If you can’t control what is going on…you HAVE to control the way you view it.

Leave a comment