Lawn mowing neighbors!

Hilma and Lawrence mowed mom’s yard today while we were in Sioux Falls.  Hilma said that their mower quit just after doing the trimming in the back yard.  Well a mystery person came and finished it.  So thank you Hilma and Lawrence and the mystery person.  The yard looks very nice.

For anyone thinking we are lazy for not mowing…mom’s dear neighbors said they would mow her lawn, we do ours, the house next door, the acre and 1/2 by the shed and the farm.  So although you do not see us mowing moms yard- we are, but a much much larger one!

Chemo went well today.  We had to kill time before our next appointment so we went to Costco and got mom more of the chocolate protein drink.  It has 30 grams of protein and it is important to have high protein during chemo.

We ate at Camiles and mom ate 1/2 of a italian roast beef panini – which was good.  We went to the pallative care meeting and it was informative.  I feel that I have my ducks in a row no matter what may come.  We are hopeful that we can push it to our back of our mind and not worry about it for a while.  I found it interesting.  The Dr.  reminded me so much of Leah Peterson, her look, her mannerisms, it was the first de ja vu feeling I had today.

The second feeling of de ja vu was pulling up to Haisches to get immodium and also Senna.  (This chemo can go either way) and put the car in park…just like I did last August on mom’s first day of treatment, to buy similar products…and my phone rang….just like last time….and it was Lisa…same as last time.  WOW!  The conversation was very much the same too…….I think that we grew up together for a reason- paused our friendship to raise families- and cancer brought us back to that bond again- first me entertaining her with daily emails through her journey and now her support to me with my mom- emails, calls, and texts…and they always show up just when I need to see them.  Life works that way.

We left Sioux Falls finally around 4 ish…mom was perky and had not used oxygen all day and was still doing well so I suggested that we swing by Helen’s.  Helen was very happy to see us and we were very happy to see her.  So we had a nice little visit, it was a short visit, but beneficial to both of them.

We ran into a couple of Cantonites at the cancer center, but thankfully they were just there to only get a checkup.  I like running into people under those circumstances!!

Mom is doing well.  A tad unsteady on her feet, but over all good.  Tomorrow will be a shorter day- we should be back in town before noon.

Yes, she is up to having visitors, do not be afraid to stop by, she is herself.  By the way- when she is at home, she doesn’t wear her hat or wig- so don’t be surprised to see her bald.  I am so used to it, it almost startles me when she puts her wig on 😉  She ran out of hair in August.  I told her I had to get my hair cut….it is getting gray (meaning I need a color) and she says so getting a hair cut gets rid of gray?  I said yes- look at you, you do not have one gray hair on your head 🙂 We tend to give each other crap.

Although this battle is not fun, the people that have reached out and stopped by, certainly have been fun!  So come with a good story, a little bit of gossip and what is going on around town and brighten her day with your presence and upbeat attitudes!

I am so thankful for Jeff- as the movie “Message in the Bottle” refers to…he is my true North.  He keeps the normalcy in my life and the incredible support that I need when I am home.  He is one of a kind and I am so lucky!!

Leave a comment